Chronic Kidney Disease or CKD – Part 3

Chronic Kidney Disease – Part 3 – The Stages of CKD

Greetings to you!

Over the past few articles we have talked about Chronic Kidney Disease or CKD, discussing the symptoms and the risks and what tests your doctor will likely perform. In this article we are going to talk about the Stages of CKD.

CKD is a progressive disease, meaning without intervention it can get more serious over time with more complications and poorer outcomes.

The stages of chronic kidney disease are determined by the glomerular filtration rate or GFR. Glomerular filtration is the process by which the kidneys filter the blood, removing excess wastes and fluids. Glomerular filtration rate (GFR) is a calculation that determines how well the blood is filtered by the kidneys. It is one way to measure kidney function.

If you are diagnosed with CKD, your doctor will likely share with you what stage of CKD you are at. What does that mean? Understanding what stage you are at, can help you and your physician to develop the best treatment plan for you.

Below is a table that outlines the stages of CKD and the GFR at each stage:



1 Kidney damage but
with normal GFR
2 Kidney damage with
slight decline in GFR
3 Moderate decline in GFR 30-59
4 Severe decline in GFR 15-29
5 Kidney failure <15 or dialysis

Your physician will discuss a plan of action based on your stage of CKD. These plans will include options to delay or stop progression of your disease, managing co-morbidities and other complications.

In upcoming articles we will talk about some of the interventions that your physician may offer and we will also talk about things you can do to protect your kidneys and make more healthful choices. Early detection is important because early intervention can slow or stop the progression of CKD.

Yours in good health

Dr. Christopher Brown

Link to video:


National Kidney Foundation

Comments are closed.